Skip to content

When You’ve Forgotten

03/25/2010

“We were insane. We were nuts for bluegrass.” David Nelson

As I read, I’m pleasantly surprised and impressed by the dedication and care with which Garcia regarded the music. So often I imagine musicians to be these natural born talents who tragically misuse or take for granted their blessed gift of music. Maybe this is true, maybe not. As the audience I like to think we can tell the difference. And when you have the Dead to compare to, it’s much easier to spot the frauds. Jerry’s deep understanding of the roots of music, the endless library of references in his head, and his unrelenting commitment blast through every note he plays. This of course makes possible that connection with the audience that Ken Kesey describes (see previous post).

As a filmmaker and storyteller, I can only hope to be infected by such passion that compels me to dedicate every ounce of myself to my craft. I think that is already real for me, but it’s easy to let ‘life’ get in the way. It’s nice to have a reminder to push through and blaze forward.

And if you need a little push…

“Inspiration, move me brightly
Light the song with sense of colour
Hold away despair
More than this I will not ask
Faced with mysteries dark and vast
Statements just seem vain at last
Some rise, some fall, some climb
To get to Terrapin”

-Terrapin Station

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

