Skip to content

From NYHS, to Me, to You

03/31/2010

This morning I found a new message in my inbox from the NY Historical Society’s Communications office. Turns out, someone over there noticed my blog and wants to give thanks. They were so kind as to donate press photos and supplemental material for me to share with you. Looks like they’ve learned a thing or two from the Grateful Dead (see previous post here). If you weren’t convinced already… the NYHS Grateful Dead exhibit is a must see and supporting the organization is certainly worthwhile. Here’s some proof:

Dennis Larkins and Peter Barsotti, Radio City Music Hall poster Oct. 22- 31, 1980. Special Collections, University of California, Santa Cruz. Grateful Dead Archive.

Dick Latvala, 7″ Audio tape box, reverse with list from November 7 & 8, 1970 shows at Capitol Theatre, Port Chester, New York, and May 6, 1970 show at Kresge Plaza, M.I.T. Cambridge, MA. Special Collections, University of California, Santa Cruz. Dick Latvala Papers.

Herb Greene, 710 Ashbury Street, San Francisco, CA, 1966. Special Collections, University of California, Santa Cruz. Grateful Dead Archive.

I’d like to encourage all of you to submit your own Grateful Dead art, photos, stories, facts, etc., to becomingdead1@gmail.com.

More pictures and history to come…

“It’s a buck dancer’s choice my friend, better take my advice
You know all the rules by now, and the fire from the ice
Will you come with me, won’t you come with me?
Wo-oh, what I want to know, will you come with me?”

Uncle John’s Band

Leave a Reply

