Skip to content

Update: Slow, But Good

06/01/2010

I just spoke with my dad, mentor of all things Dead, and he asked, ‘Hey, how’s the blog coming?’. When I answered with ‘slow, but good’, I could hear an ounce of disappointment in his reaction which, now that I think about it, was more than likely my own disappointment in the guise of his voice.

The last few weeks have been hectic. The worst has been nursing an unrelenting case of strep throat (since Sunday) and the best has been showing a dear friend around New York City (miss you Annie!). All the while, the Grateful Dead has been playing in the background in one form or another, but little time has been left for sharing. I assure you, we’ll play catch up this week.

Until then, I’ll be listening to the Grateful Dead at Cleveland Public Hall, November 29, 1979 as recommended by a fellow Deadhead. I’m told this recording of Shakedown Street is experimental rock bliss. What say you?

Listen for yourself by clicking here

As I collect my thoughts, share your own by commenting below or emailing becomingdead1@gmail.com

<3

“There are things you can replace, and others you cannot.
The time has come to weigh those things.
This space is getting hot, you know this space is getting hot.”

Althea

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Leif permalink
    06/02/2010 5:18 am

    Hope you get better quick and thanks for the tip on the 79 show! and link

  2. 06/02/2010 11:22 am

    I enjoy reading — totally I understand how life gets in the way sometimes — the song lyric at the end of each post is a great touch. Keep it up!

  3. 06/07/2010 5:29 pm

    I just listened to that Cleveland 79 show yesterday. The entire second set is pretty fun, but the Shakedown opener of set 2 was the signpost for the rest of the show

Leave a Reply

