Skip to content

Truckin’ On Independence Day

07/04/2010

On July 4th, 1989 the Grateful Dead held a show at what was then known as Rich Stadium in Buffalo, NY. Several reviews refer to this show, and the rest of the tour, as one of the Dead’s best in their last 15 years on stage. In 2005 the CD and DVD recordings of this Independence Day show were released as Truckin’ Up To Buffalo.

What better way to celebrate this day than with one of the best personifications of Americana? You can listen and download this show for free by clicking here.

So, consider this your July 4th, 2010 soundtrack and come back here to share your thoughts and celebrations. If my recommendation isn’t enough, check out these reviews:

The Music Box

The Best Of Website

JamBands.com


Tomorrow, someone I love very much is deploying to Afghanistan to serve and protect this country. Please keep him and all the other servicemen and women in your thoughts.

Happy Independence Day…

“Red and white, blue suede shoes
I’m Uncle Sam, how do you do
Gimme five, still alive
Ain’t no luck, I learned to duck

Check my pulse, it don’t change
Stay seventy two, come shine or rain
Wave the flag, pop the bag
Rock the boat, skin the goat

Wave that flag, wave it wide and high
Summertime done come and gone, my oh my

I’m Uncle Sam, that’s who I am
Been hiding out, in a rock and roll band
Shake the hand that shook the hand
Of P. T. Barnum and Charlie Chan

Shine your shoes, light your fuse
Can you use them old U.S. Blues
I’ll drink your health, share your wealth
Run your life, steal your wife

Back to back, chicken shack
Son of a gun, better change your act
We’re all confused, what’s to lose
You can call this song the United States Blues”

U.S. Blues

2 Comments leave one →
  1. dlr2008 permalink
    07/14/2010 12:27 pm

    Best in the last 15 years you say. The best since 1974. I really doubt that opinion has much traction in the Dead community.

  2. 07/14/2010 1:53 pm

    Well no, I do not say this, others do. I certainly could not attest to that. I think the Dead community is pretty open to opinions though, as we all know that each experience with the Dead is unique. Thanks for sharing yours!

Leave a Reply

