Skip to content

Truckin’: Europe ’11

03/13/2011

In front of the Cathédrale Notre Dame de Strasbourg, France

It’s been a few months, but I assure you, Becoming Dead is alive and well. Here’s what’s been going on…

In late 2010, I discovered an opportunity and decided pretty quickly that I was going to pounce on it. And I did. I quit my job, left New York City, said goodbye to loved ones, and moved to Europe. Indefinitely. And you better believe, it only took me a couple of days to rock the Europe ’72 shirt.

Since February 15th, I’ve lived in Sindelfingen, Germany where my brother is stationed. We live off base in a stellar apartment where I find myself reading and writing more than ever. So far, I’ve visited Barcelona, Spain; Strasbourg, France; Tübingen, Germany; and Ludwigsburg, Germany. This weekend I’ll be visiting Mannheim and Heidelberg, Germany. You can (and should!) follow my journeys at www.movemebrightly.wordpress.com.

So where does all of this leave the Grateful Dead in my life? As always, at an arms reach. It isn’t rare to

In a Barcelona hostel wearing the Europe '72 shirt my dad handed down to me

hear Sunshine Daydream playing in my German home or to see me strutting down the street in one of my Dead shirts. And now I’d like to open the Grateful Dead doors a little more. Because when you’re far away from home, the people that you love, and the language you rely on; those familiar comforts become all the more special.

One Google search for “grateful dead germany” and I’m already super excited. No surprise here, there are whole Grateful Dead communities throughout Europe and I cannot wait to explore them all. My wish is to share with you the unique experience of an American Deadhead in Europe and how the Dead is constantly intertwined with my journey.

This is Europe ’11. I hope you come along for the ride.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. 03/13/2011 9:09 pm

    You’re awesome! We have similar stories. I too left the east coast and moved to Europe. Heidelberg is beautiful. I have been there. I was just in Strasbourg and Wiesbaden for Christmas!

    I also love military life. I wish I could live near a base, and work on one. That would be great.

    Continue to enjoy Europe and support our troops that are away from home :)

  2. Anonymous permalink
    06/20/2012 8:51 pm

    yep livin the dream !im sooo jealous right now

Leave a comment